Create London commissions art and architecture in the public realm.  

Warm Shores (2022). Photography by Sean Pollock

Create works with local communities in cities to commission art and architecture that is ambitious, purposeful and useful. We work over the long-term, and in ways that can bring agency and positive impacts for local residents, the partners we work with and the artists, architects and other creative practitioners we commission.

Our work exists on different scales and timeframes encompassing policy and planning, buildings and infrastructure, residencies and public programmes. We seek to innovate and experiment, testing new ways of working, creating exemplars for practice within this context.

Over our ten-year history, our focus has shifted from temporary projects in east London to establishing long-term artist- and community-led initiatives across the UK. Since 2011 we have helped to set up ten new organisations that include an adventure playground, a community-minded art school, and London’s leading employability programme for young people in the creative sector. At the centre of our current programme is a year-long multi-disciplinary programme marking the centenary of Britain’s largest social housing estate, a home for artist’s residencies and community-led programmes at The White House, and a new model for long-secure housing for creative professionals, A House for Artists.

Our work in policy underpins our practice and we have collaborated with the Universities of Edinburgh, Goldsmiths and Sheffield to commission pioneering research on inequalities in the UK cultural industry.

Create London Team

Anna Holsgrove

Curator and Project Manager
anna@createlondon.org

Ben Dunleavy

Office Manager and PA to the Directors
bend@createlondon.org

Celeste Ricci

Head of Development
celeste@createlondon.org

Dave Gore

Caretaker - The White House
whitehouse@createlondon.org

Ewa Effion

Capital Project Manager
ewa@createlondon.org

Griffi

Community Co-ordinator - The White House
griffi@createlondon.org

João Guarantani

Head of Strategic Operations
joao@createlondon.org

Kieran Swann

Senior Curator
kieran@createlondon.org

Marie Bak Mortensen

Director
marie@createlondon.org

Morgan Lewis

Community Engagement Co-ordinator
morgan@createlondon.org

Ross Chalmers

Producer
ross@createlondon.org

Samsul Alom

Finance Manager
finance@createlondon.org

Victoria Norton

Marketing & Communications Manager
victoria@createlondon.org

Board Members

Kerry Bishop

Chair
Founder and Director, Know Your Place

Carey Robinson

Member of Finance Committee
Head of Learning and Participation, Fitzwilliam Museum

Caroline McGinn

Member of Remuneration Committee
Editor at Large, Time Out

Councillor Christopher Kennedy

Cabinet Member for Health, Adult Social Care, Voluntary Sector and Culture
London Borough of Hackney

Claude Moraes OBE

Chair of Remuneration Committee.
Former Member of the European Parliament; Research Associate and Visiting Fellow, University of London, The City Law School

Ilona Harris

Director, West Horsley Place Trust

Leslie Morphy, OBE

Vice-Chair and Chair of Nominations Committee
Consultant

Dr Rohit K Dasgupta FHEA

Councillor and Deputy Cabinet Member for Social Justice, Equalities and Culture, London Borough of Newham

Councillor Rosalind Doré

Member of Remuneration Committee
Cabinet Commissioner for Culture, London Borough of Waltham Forest

Councillor Saima Ashraf

Councillor, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member, London Borough of Barking and Dagenham

Sarah Mann

Member of Nominations Committee
Arts and Culture Manager, HS2

Sannan Pervaiz

Member of Nominations Committee
Climate Change & Security Advisor

Vivian Chan

Member of Nominations Committee
Executive Director, CEO, Co-founder, Sparrow