Create London commissions art and architecture in the public realm.  

Create works with local communities in cities to commission art and architecture that is ambitious, purposeful and useful. We work over the long-term, and in ways that can bring agency and positive impacts for local residents, the partners we work with and the artists, architects and other creative practitioners we commission.

Our work exists on different scales and timeframes encompassing policy and planning, buildings and infrastructure, residencies and public programmes. We seek to innovate and experiment, testing new ways of working, creating exemplars for practice within this context.

Over our ten-year history, our focus has shifted from temporary projects in east London to establishing long-term artist- and community-led initiatives across the UK. Since 2011 we have helped to set up ten new organisations that include an adventure playground, a community-minded art school, and London’s leading employability programme for young people in the creative sector. At the centre of our current programme is a year-long multi-disciplinary programme marking the centenary of Britain’s largest social housing estate, a home for artist’s residencies and community-led programmes at The White House, and a new model for long-secure housing for creative professionals, A House for Artists.

Our work in policy underpins our practice and we have collaborated with the Universities of Edinburgh, Goldsmiths and Sheffield to commission pioneering research on inequalities in the UK cultural industry.

Create London Team

Sorrel Hershberg

Executive Director

Diana Ibáñez López

Interim Co-Artistic Director - Architecture and urbanism

Habda Rashid

Interim Co-Artistic Director - Contemporary art

Kieran Swann

Curator - The White House


Community Co-ordinator - The White House

Dave Gore

Caretaker - The White House

Lewis Dalton Gilbert

Curator - Hackney Windrush Commission

Lauren Gee

Coordinator - Hackney Windrush Commission

Joanna Bradford

Senior Producer

Rachel Muckle

Becontree Centenary Project Manager

Alejandro Ball

Production Manager and Assistant Curator

Mhairi McGhee

Assistant Curator - Engagement

Janette Scott

Interim Communications Manager

Sarah Vowden

Administrator and PA to the Executive Director

Samsul Alom

Finance Manager

Board Members

David Bailey, CBE

Artist, photographer and filmmaker and Director, Camera Eye Limited

Maha El Dimachki

Financial Conduct Authority

Councillor Paul Douglas

Cabinet Member for Culture, London Borough of Waltham Forest

Councillor Denise Jones

London Borough of Tower Hamlets

Caroline McGinn

Global Editor in Chief, Time Out

Claude Moraes OBE

Former Member of the European Parliament and former Chair of its Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs Committee

Leslie Morphy, OBE

Consultant, Deputy Chair of Board of Governors at Oxford Brookes University

Councillor Guy Nicholson

Interim Chair of Create London

Henry Ritchotte

Founder, RitMir Ventures

Leader of the Council Darren Rodwell

Leader of London Borough of Barking and Dagenham

Andrea Sullivan

Head of International ESG, Bank of America

Bernice Vanier

Independent Trustee