Create London commissions art and architecture in the public realm.  

folly1

We support artists and creative practitioners to find new ways to make positive contributions to civic life.

We do two things:

We commission ambitious new art and arts infrastructure

We seek to positively impact civic and community life

Our work is situated at the intersection of these. We set out to create a dynamic relationship between them: a virtuous circle. 

Our belief is that working in public settings can enrich creative practice and that working with artists can in turn enrich civic and community life.

 

Who we are

Over our ten-year history, our focus has shifted from temporary projects in east London to establishing long-term artist and community-led initiatives across the UK. Since 2011 we have helped to set up ten new organisations that include an adventure playground, a community-minded art school, and London’s leading employability programme  for young people in the creative sector, and a year-long multi-disciplinary programme marking the centenary of Britain’s largest social housing estate.

We work with artists, architects, communities, cultural  institutions and local authorities, developing projects that create lasting and sustainable benefits, and increase participation in creative practice, create jobs and support community growth.

Our work in policy underpins our practice and we have collaborated with the Universities of Edinburgh, Goldsmiths and Sheffield to commission pioneering research on inequalities in the UK cultural industry.

We are part of a growing international movement that seeks to expand what art can do and who it is for.

Create London Team

Hadrian Garrard

Co-Director
hadrian@createlondon.org

Sorrel Hershberg

Co-Director
sorrel@createlondon.org

Diana Ibáñez López

Senior Curator - architecture and urbanism
diana@createlondon.org

Habda Rashid

Senior Curator - visual art
habda@createlondon.org

Charlie Gregory

Curator: The White House
charlie@createlondon.org

Kirsty Kerr

Assistant Curator - The White House
kirsty@createlondon.org

Griffi

Community Co-ordinator, The White House
griffi@createlondon.org

Dave Gore

The White House Caretaker
whitehouse@createlondon.org

Lewis Dalton Gilbert

Curator - Hackney Windrush Commission
lewis@createlondon.org

Lauren Gee

Hackney Windrush Commission Coordinator
lauren@createlondon.org

Alejandro Ball

Assistant Curator and Producer
alejandro@createlondon.org

Mhairi McGhee

Assistant Curator - Engagement
mhairi@createlondon.org

Rachel Dunlop

Becontree Centenary Programme Manager
racheldunlop@createlondon.org

Joanna Bradford

Producer
joanna@createlondon.org

Charlotte Aston

Development Manager
charlotte@createlondon.org

Rozzy Middleton

Communications Manager
rozzy@createlondon.org

Sarah Vowden

Administrator and PA to the Chief Executive
sarah@createlondon.org

Samsul Alom

Finance Manager
finance@createlondon.org

Board Members

David Bailey, CBE

Artist, photographer and filmmaker and Director, Camera Eye Limited

Maha El Dimachki

Financial Conduct Authority

Councillor Paul Douglas

Junior Cabinet Member for Borough of Culture, London Borough of Waltham Forest

Councillor Denise Jones

London Borough of Tower Hamlets

Caroline McGinn

Global Editor in Chief, Time Out

Claude Moraes OBE

Former Member of the European Parliament and former Chair of its Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs Committee

Leslie Morphy, OBE

Consultant, Deputy Chair of Board of Governors at Oxford Brookes University

Councillor Guy Nicholson

Interim Chair of Create London

Henry Ritchotte

Founder, RitMir Ventures

Leader of the Council Darren Rodwell

Leader of London Borough of Barking and Dagenham

Andrea Sullivan

Head of International ESG, Bank of America

Bernice Vanier

Independent Trustee