Create exists to explore the ways artists can contribute to the lives of people in cities.

folly1

Our work is primarily focused in east London, home to more artists and art organisations than anywhere in Europe, and one of the most economically deprived parts of the UK.

We help artists to connect more closely with communities through an ambitious programme of projects.

We commission art anywhere. Unlike a gallery or theatre we have no fixed public space, preferring to work in the places people encounter everyday. Working collaboratively informs everything we do and our projects are driven by artists, issues and places.

PROJECTS

Over the last ten years we have helped to build a cinema under a motorway, set-up a new drinks-making company run with local people, built a new soft play centre and commissioned over 100 artists to deliver some of the the most ambitious projects of their careers. 

We have expertise in delivering long-term creative projects that contribute to improvements in neighbourhoods across east London and champion communities and artists to be part of the changing nature of the city, including Old Manor Park Library, a new public space for artists, makers and people living in Manor Park, Newham; Open School East, a project that supports emerging artists by providing free tuition and studio space in exchange for developing public programmes for communities in Margate, Kent; and Blackhorse Workshop, workshop and community resource for wood and metal-working in Walthamstow.

All of our work is underpinned by our Create Jobs initiative, which provides mentoring, support and paid employment opportunities for local young people.

Download our 2016-17 annual report here.

Download our 2015-16 annual report here.

Download our 2014-15 annual report here.

Download our 2013-14 annual report here.

Create London Team

Kulthum Abdul-Aziz

Trainee
kulthum@createlondon.org

Charlotte Aston

Development Coordinator
charlotte@createlondon.org

Scott Burrell

Head of Programme
scott@createlondon.org

Caitlin Garner-Bacon

Producer
caitlin@createlondon.org

Hadrian Garrard

Director
hadrian@createlondon.org

Dave Gore

The White House Caretaker
whitehouse@createlondon.org

Ella Hall

The White House Engagement Co-ordinator
whitehouse@createlondon.org

Sorrel Hershberg

Executive Director
sorrel@createlondon.org

Diana Ibáñez López

Head of Capital Projects
diana@createlondon.org

Dunya Kalantery

Schools Producer
dunya@createlondon.org

Liam Kane

Finance Manager and Company Secretary
info@createlondon.org

Eva Liu

Office Administrator and PA to the Director
eva@createlondon.org

Jade Onojeruo

Trainee
jade@createlondon.org

Annalie Schutz

Communications Manager
annalie@createlondon.org

Franklyn Sweeney

Community Engagement Co-ordinator
frank@createlondon.org

Alice White

Producer
alice@createlondon.org

Board Members

John Studzinski, CBE

Chairman for Create and Investor Relations and Business Development and a Senior Managing Director of Blackstone LP

David Bailey, CBE

Artist, photographer and filmmaker and Director, Camera Eye Limited

Tony Elliott, CBE

Founder and Chairman at Time Out Group Ltd

Karina McTeague

Director Retail Banking, Supervision - Retail & Authorisations Division, FCA

Leslie Morphy, OBE

Consultant, Deputy Chair of Board of Governors at Oxford Brookes University

Henry Ritchotte

Founder, RitMir Ventures

Matthew Slotover, OBE

Co-Founder and Co-Publisher of Frieze Art Fair, Director of the Frieze Foundation

Andrea Sullivan

Head of International ESG, Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Councillor Guy Nicholson

Vice-Chairman of Create London/Councillor of London Borough of Hackney

Councillor Denise Jones

London Borough of Tower Hamlets

Councillor Ahsan Khan

London Borough of Waltham Forest

Leader of the Council Darren Rodwell

Leader of London Borough of Barking and Dagenham

Councillor Bernice Vanier

London Borough of Haringey

Liam Kane, MBE

Company Secretary
, CEO of East London Business Alliance